How to Make a Tailor Made Thank You Card

I’m just old enough to have learned to sew as a child, back in the dark days before electricity, this was considered an essential skill. Back then they even taught you how to sew in school , just in case your mother had concentrated too much on proper table settings and advanced corsage wearing skills in your upbringing. These classes were called Home Economics and set out to teach the proper methods for the running of the home from a business and scientific angle. There were no boys in these classes. The boys took Industrial Arts, where they learned to build bird houses and lamps, essential skills for red blooded American males.

We did have a textbook, the occasional test on liquid measurement recipe conversion, and get a grade, but Home Ec really was the class where you got to make brownies, “international” dinners (from The Better Homes and Gardens cookbook), and stylish double knit separates. It was really about girl time, learning to work together, and how enjoyable applying good basic skills can be.

While, thankfully, I’ve forgotten everything I learned about table setting, easy-sew double knits, and international cuisine, sewing has stayed with me. My teacher was an excellent seamstress and instilled a love of good dressmaking skills in the three or four of us in my class that enjoyed sewing. Thanks to my teacher I can cut and fit from a dress form, do some basic tailoring, and know about 1000 seam finishes that can be done with a straight stitch machine alone.

In school those of us who sewed always wanted to show off our skills, we made elaborate, and now, very frightening dresses from *gasp* Vogue Patterns for prom, short sets to wear in PE, and a plethora of matching blouses and pant sets that were considered very stylish in the day. We proudly said, “Yes., thank you.” when someone asked us if we had made our outfit. Our teacher told us to be careful about that, we didn’t understand, but now I do.

I have kept sewing and I enjoy it. Almost no one asks if if I have made the the things I make, I consider that a compliment, but it may be because a lot of folks don’t think about anybody making anything anymore. But some do remember, and they are ones I fear.

The call usually comes right after the holidays, its an old friend, an in-law, a niece, calling to tell me they are getting married. I’m happy for them, but I know what’s coming. They want me to make the dress, or all the dresses. I don’t mind doing, especially for the ones I love, but I know it will always end in tears, theirs, not mine.

Weddings are a big ball of stress, nobody is at their best when it comes time for the last fittings, and it can be really hard. I’d really just like to avoid the whole thing and have to do nothing but show up at the ceremony with something from the happy couple’s wedding registry. Sometimes I get to do that.

I did get a call last week from an old friend whose daughter is getting married this spring. She wanted something, but not a dress. She wanted a card. A card to thank the lady who had made her daughter’s dress. Wow. All the bitching I’ve done over the years while surrounded by clouds of white taffeta, hoards of white seed pearls, and a little too much Chardonnay (by the time I called my friend) must have had some effect.

This is what I came up with..

I used the Close To My Heart Cricut Art Philosophy Cartridge(which you can get free, if you sign up to be a consultant this month, hint hint) to cut the perfect oval in the card stock and the CTMH Tailor Made My Acrylix Stamp Set for the stamping, along with a few pieces from the Bohemian Embellishment Assortment here and there.

I added a place for the picture of the bride in her dress and plenty of spots for personal thank-yours.

Finally I made a box.

I love the way the Vanilla Creme ink looks on the black.

Comments

  1. I love the look of this, so pretty!

  2. how cute!!! thanks for sharing it =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers

